Skip to content

Moving up & moving on

August 16, 2012

Hello Hamline!

Earlier this week I had my first day as an intern at Greenspr!ng Media Group. At every corner of the office there are news stand racks full of Minnesota Monthly and Midwest Home. I already have my first assignment–writing a two-page spread on what’s happening in the Twin Cities for the October issue of Where: Twin Cities, a publication targeted at tourists and distributed in hotel rooms and at information desks around the cities. The position is a perfect fit for me, (I love any excuse to explore the Cities, especially if I can write it off as “work”) and the rest of the office seems laid-back yet exceptionally talented.

If the first thing that comes to mind when I say I’m a magazine intern is a scene out of “The Devil Wears Prada,” throw that image out. Everyone is so nice and helpful; they didn’t even laugh at me (to my face) when I walked into the wrong cubicle twice. I’m so excited for this opportunity to put my nose to the grindstone and prove that I can make it as a writer. It’s an added bonus that Greenspr!ng has a reputation for holding onto their interns; the cubicle next to mine is the last intern who was hired on as a full-time staffer.

As one door is opening, I’m closing another behind me. Today is my last day as a student worker for the Office of Marketing Communications, and although my rambling blog posts will be archived for ever and ever, this will be my last post. I’m so grateful that I had the opportunity to work up here, although I wish they’d build an elevator in Old Main already. Hiking to the third floor on crutches is NOT fun. Many of the staff here have become good friends, I’ve gained a lot of professional experience, and even more insightful advice on the next steps for my career. It’s a little bit bittersweet to be leaving, but I’m so excited for what lies ahead.

That’s all for now,

Claire

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 22, 2012 4:27 pm

    Good luck with your new job, Claire!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

